Social Security Medicare Savings Program

Program Description

The Social Security Medicare Savings Program (MSP) is a federally funded program administered by each individual state. States have programs for people with limited income and resources that pay some or all of their Medicare premiums and may pay Medicare deductibles and coinsurance.

There are four Medicare Savings Programs:

  • Qualified Medicare Beneficiary (QMB)
  • Specified Low-Income Medicare Beneficiary (SLMB)
  • Qualifying Individual (QI or QI-1)
  • Qualified Disabled & Working Individuals (QDWI)

General Program Requirements

To qualify for this benefit program you must meet the following requirements:

  • Reside in a state or the District of Columbia,
  • Are age 65 or older,
  • Receive Social Security Disability benefits, or
  • People with certain disabilities or permanent kidney failure (even if under age 65)
  • Meet standard income and resource requirements

For a full list of requirements visit’s Medicare Savings Program page.

Based on the information you gave about your income, you could get help from your state to pay your Medicare premium. If your income is low enough, your state also may help pay your coinsurance and deductibles.

Your Next Steps

The following information will lead you to the next steps to apply for this benefit.

Application Process

Visit the Medicare Benefits page to apply online.

You may also call your State Medicare Program to see if you qualify and to apply.

Please visit the Social Security Administration’s Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services Forms and Publications page to download an application.

Program Contact Information

For more information about Medicare, visit the Center for Medicare & Medicaid Services’ Medicare page.

Visit SSA's Publications home page for detailed information about SSA programs and policies.

Or for additional information on this and any SSA benefit, call:
1-800-772-1213 (TTY: 1-800-325-0778)