Program Description

Medicare Savings Programs (MSP) are federally funded programs administered by each individual state. These programs are for people with limited income and resources and help pay some or all of their Medicare premiums, deductibles, copayments and coinsurance.

There are four Medicare Savings Programs:

  • Qualified Medicare Beneficiary (QMB).
  • Specified Low-Income Medicare Beneficiary (SLMB).
  • Qualifying Individual (QI or QI-1).
  • Qualified Disabled & Working Individuals (QDWI).

Program Requirements

Below are general requirements for the MSP:

  • Reside in a state or the District of Columbia.
  • Are age 65 or older.
  • Receive Social Security Disability benefits.
  • People with certain disabilities or permanent kidney failure (even if under age 65); and
  • Meet standard income and resource requirements.

For a full list of requirements visit’s Medicare Savings Program page.

Based on the information you gave about your income, you could get help from your state to pay your Medicare premium. If your income is low enough, your state also may help pay your coinsurance and deductibles.

Contact Information

For more information about Medicare, visit the Centers for Medicare Services’ Medicare page.

Benefit Categories
blue cross
Medicare Social Security
Insurance Social Security